Achievement in Publishing


The individual has demonstrated a history of creating excellent magazine content and/or products; achieved long-term success in the magazine industry; and made significant contributions to the Alberta magazine industry, including volunteer work, advocacy, leadership and collaboration.


Bert Crowfoot

Bert Crowfoot

Bert Crowfoot’s history in Alberta runs deep, and not only because he is a proud member of the Siksika Nation and the great, great grandson of Chief Crowfoot, signatory of Treaty 7. With over 45 years of journalism experience — much of it at the helm of the same ground-breaking news and information service — Crowfoot is a trailblazer in Indigenous publishing in Canada, and of grassroots media in general, offering perspectives often overlooked by mainstream outlets.

Past Winners

Rob Tanner

Gold 2011 | Rob Tanner

Ruth Kelly

Gold 2012 | Ruth Kelly

Elaine Kupser

Gold 2013 | Elaine Kupser

Tom Tait

Gold 2014 | Tom Tait

Chris Bird

Gold 2015 | Chris Bird

Anders Knudsen

Gold 2016 | Anders Knudsen

Katharina Doyle

Gold 2017 | Katharina Doyle

Joyce Byrne

Gold 2018 | Joyce Byrne

Jackie Flanagan

Gold 2019 | Jackie Flanagan


M.L. Ellen Percival

Gold 2020 | M.L. Ellen Percival


Brian French

Gold 2021 | Brian French


Gold 2022 | Sherry Shaw-Froggatt