Emerging Writer

This award is open to non-fiction work written by current post-secondary students, recent grads or interns with a maximum three years’ professional experience. This award goes to the writer whose early work in magazines shows the highest degree of craft and promise.

Sponsored by the Amber Webb-Bowerman Memorial Foundation




2019 Winners and Finalists

  • Bear With Us

    Fabian Mayer

    Avenue Calgary

  • Threshold

    Scott Jackshaw

    Glass Buffalo

  • Finding Lulu

    Bashir Mohamed

    The Yards

  • The Leader of the Pack

    Gavin Doyle

    Glass Buffalo